About Us | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy
New! We offer various online courses. Click here to sign up!
Ortho Assistant Permit - DBC Approved (Early Registration Discount!)

RDA Written Review

RDA Practical REVIEW Course -2015

(COMBO) 8 hour Infection Control & California Dental Practice Act & Law and Ethics Review $110 OFF $540

Dental Practice Act & Law and Ethics Review- (4 hours) 2 Classes ONLY $150

8 hour Infection Control - Mandatory as of 1/1/10

Pit and Fissure Sealants- $145 OFF - (Reg. $695)

Coronal Polishing

Ultrasonic Scaling- Required for OAP-Course

Basics for the New Auxiliary

Xray-California Radiation Health & Safety $100- OFF (Reg. $695)

X-ray Technique Refresher

X-ray Challenge

Temporary Crown -Advanced Esthetic Provisionals

American Red Cross:CPR - Adult, Child & Infant with Defibrillation-Blended

ASHI's (American Health & Safety Institute): CPR - Adult, Child & Infant with Defibrillation-Blended

Facebow Tranfser and Bite Registration & Preliminary Impressions

Online-2 hour mandate Infection Control Renewal

California Dental Practice Act Online (2 hrs) Coming Soon!

Request on-site training : 10 Staff memebers or more





Department of Consumer Affairs


Dental Specialties Institute Inc, Schools - Business & Vocational, San Jose, CA




Programs

We dedicate ourselves to providing you with exceptional education in dental care. We offer the following programs:

Ortho Assistant Permit - DBC Approved (Early Registration Discount!)

Price: $1,700.00

Available Dates:

  • All course supplies are provided by DSI
  • What you need to register:
  • 6 months work experience • 2 hrs Dental Practice Act • 8 Infection Control for DA's or 2 hrs for RDAs • Basic life support (BLS/CPR) • Proof of Liability Insurance. You will be given access to the online course upon receipt of payment.
  • Part I: February 28- March 1, 2015, 9am-6pm
  • Part II: March 28-29, 2015, 9am-6pm

Dental Board of California Approved 84 hours of ce credit: DBC Category 1

  • Regular Course Fee $2400


  • Now accepting registrations - $2400 Great Deal! CLASS LIMITED TO 14 STUDENTS. Must work in an office where ortho procedures are provided to qualify. No need to bring anything to class. All course supplies are provided.

    Program Instructor

    Dr. Michael J. Stepovich is the lead instructor for the OAP Course. Dr. Stepovich has 24 years of private practice experience and 5 years of teaching experience in the Specialty of Orthodontics. Dr. Stepovich is dedicated to providing and teaching excellence in all aspects of the field of Orthodontics.


    IMPORTANT: •6 months work experience •2 hrs Dental Board Dental Practice Act •8 Infection Control for DA's or 2 hrs for RDAs •Basic life support (BLS/CPR) Red Cross or American Heart Association Only. •Ultrasonic Scaling Permit •Proof of Liability Insurance Coverage- We have the applications if you don't have the insurance.

    Our OAP Course will train you to:

  • Prepare teeth for bonding, select, preposition, and cure orthodontic brackets after their position has been approved by the licensed dentist.
  • Remove orthodontic brackets, bands, attachments with removal of the bonding material using a scaler and adhesive removing plier under direct supervision of licensed dentist/orthodontist. It is not legal for ortho assistants to remove orthodontic adhesive with a motorized instrument.
  • Size, fit, and cement orthodontic bands.
  • Remove orthodontic bands and remove excess cement from supragingival surfaces of teeth with a hand instrument or ultrasonic scaler.(separate permit)
  • Place and ligate archwires.
  • Facebow transfer
  • Apply orthodontic clinical efficiency and patient management techniques
  • Understand and apply appropriate work habits and professionalism while being employed as an orthodontic clinical assistant.

    The OAP DA course is at least 84 hours in length and has three components: 24 hours of didactic, 28 hours of lab/preclinical, and 32 hours of clinical.

    The OAP RDA Course is at least 60 hours in length and has three components: 24+ hours of didactic, 26 hours of lab/preclinical, and 22 hours of clinical. There will be a 2 hour Orientation to Lab and Clinical Component Of OAP Course. Mandatory 24 hour online component must be completed prior to class! If the online component is not completed prior to course date, candidate will be dropped from the program without a refund. Will then be required to re-enroll and pay full tuition.
  • Candidate must pass all required online course post-tests.
  • Candidates must pass OAP didactic- online Final Exam and then will be eligible to advance to the OAP Lab and Clinical Course.
  • Candidates who have successfully completed the OAP Course will then be eligible to take the OAP Exam given by the Dental Board of California.
  • Assistants apply for their Orthodontic Assistant Permit by submitting the OAP Course Certificate and their OAP Exam score.

    Some of the Online Courses for the Orthodontic Assistant Permit are as followed:

    1. Separators 2. Orthodontic Banding 3. Bonding: Introduction 4. Bonding: Brackets 5. Bonding: Preparing Teeth For Bonding 6. Bonding: Materials 7. Bonding: Bracket Placement 8. Bonding: Bracket Positioning 9. Bonding: Difficult Areas, Troubleshooting, Rebonding 10. Bonding: Special Surfaces 11. Orthodontic Wire Basics 12. Initial Wire Insertion 13. Finishing: Marking finishing wires 14. Finishing: Inserting finishing wires 15. Orthodontic Debanding

    Orthodontic Assistants (OAs) The following is an excerpt from the DBC website:

    a. Permit Requirements -in order to register for this course:
    B&P Sections 1750.2 and 1750.4 establish Orthodontic Assistant (OA) permit categories, which require completion of 12 months of work experience as a DA, completion of a board-approved OA course which may commence after 6 months of work experience, a written examination, and completion of board-approved courses in the California Dental Practice Act, infection control, and basic life support. These permits must be maintained in the same manner as other licenses, including renewal and required CE.

    b. Course Requirements.
    B&P Sections 1756.1 and 1756.2 specifies that the OA course must be a minimum of 84 hours, must be board-approved. B&P Sections 1754.5, 1755, 1756.1 and 1756.2 specify the requirements that courses must meet to obtain Board approval.

    c. RDAs Seeking OA Permit.
    OA permit may be applied for prior to RDA licensure, or an RDA may apply for such permits post-RDA licensure.

    d. OA Duties.
    B&P Section 1750.3 specifies the duties of an OA as:
    1750.3. A person holding an orthodontic assistant permit pursuant to Section 1750.2 may perform the following duties under the direct supervision of a supervising licensed dentist: (a) All duties that a dental assistant is allowed to perform. (b) Prepare teeth for bonding, and select, preposition, and cure orthodontic brackets after their position has been approved by the licensed dentist. (c) Remove only orthodontic brackets and attachments with removal of the bonding material by the supervising licensed dentist. (d) Size, fit, and cement orthodontic bands. (e) Remove orthodontic bands and remove excess cement from supragingival surfaces of teeth with a hand instrument. (f) Place and ligate archwires. (g) Remove excess cement with an ultrasonic scaler from supragingival surfaces of teeth undergoing orthodontic treatment. (h) Any additional duties that the board may prescribe by regulation.

  •  

    RDA Written Review

    Price: $250.00

    Available Dates:

    • 8am-6pm
    • Continental Breakfast Included!!!
    • April 18, 2015 (Saturday)

    Comprehensive ONE day seminar covering all of the required topic areas as tested on the RDA written examination oultine plan. Written preparation using a review book with practice tests and answer key. The California RDA Written Examination Prep Book is a brand new 280-page textbook filled with California State Board exam specific data to be used as a preparation manual for the state-issued examination. Focusing on the Dental Board examination plan issued by the Board, this prep book contains all the review materials needed to study including over 300 mock examination questions, answer bank and examination plan materials. Available at a fee of $89 in addition to course fee. Book is optional, but highly recommended!

     

    RDA Practical REVIEW Course -2015

    Price: $250.00

    Available Dates:

    • 8am-6pm
    • Continental Breakfast Included!!!
    • 98% Pass Rate!
    • February 1, 2015 (Sunday)

    Dental Specialties Institute, Inc. Proud to announce 98% pass rate!
    State Practical EXAM DATES: February 21 and 22, 2015 GIVEN AT UCSF
    Course Includes:

  • "Hands-on" -All day long with top quality and very experienced instructors! Space is limited!
  • Individualized instruction in a small class size environment with a ratio of instructor/student of 1/4.
  • Class II temporary sedative restoration, Fabrication of a custom anterior temporary crown and cementation.
  • "Mock exam experience"
  • All supplies included with your course fee. State Practical Examination Dates November 1 & 2, 2014 @ UCSF November 15 and 16, 2014 @ Carrington College, Pomona

  •  

    (COMBO) 8 hour Infection Control & California Dental Practice Act & Law and Ethics Review $110 OFF $540

    Price: $390.00

    Available Dates:

    • DPA & Law and Ethics Review: Course Time:9:00am - 1:00pm
    • IC Lab: Course Time :2:00pm -6:30pm
    • December 7, 2014 (Sunday)

    Dental Board of California Approved
    Receive a $110 discount! Regular fee is $540- Your Price $390 for 3 classes!

    • $350- 8 hour Infection Control
    • $150- Dental Practice Act & Law and Ethics Review
      The speaker Laurel Loomer, RDHAP also specializes in LAW!
    • $40- Law and Ethics Review Book and Flash Cards- Not included
    • Continental Breakfast included!
    All for $390!!
    Dental Board of California Approved
    MANDATORY- for all RDA Applicants in order to receive a license. If you are an Unlicensed DA hired after 1-1-10, You must complete this training within 12 months of your hire date

    Class sessions: 2 hour lecture for DPA & 2 hour RDA Law and Ethics review and 4 hours IC laboratory requirement. If enrolled in the IC course, you will be required to complete the additional 4 hours of on-line training: videos, practical applications and post-tests prior to course meeting in order to participate in the lab session.

    You may purchase a Prep Review Book with flash cards for the RDA Law and Ethics Examination prior to registration. Book fee is $40. Oreder Book prior to calss as it will not be available in class.

    Our students have had great success with this course!
    Continental Breakfast included!


    Course content : Scope of Practice, Allowable Duties for Auxiliaries, Conditional Duties and Continuing Education. This is a great prep class for your PSI Exam. Practice test given at the end of class. (Not related to actual exam questions)

    The speaker Laurel Loomer, RDHAP also specializes in LAW!
    Summarize the California Dental Practice Act. • List the governing agencies of the dental profession and define their functions. • Describe the legal role and responsibilities of the dentist and dental auxiliaries. • Distinguish between direct and indirect supervision and define which auxiliary responsibilities are in each category. • Describe the various laws regarding licenses in the dental profession.

    12 hours of ce credit: DBC Category 1

    Sign up prior to taking your Law and Ethics exam!

    Practice test given at the end of class. (Not related to actual exam questions)
    Speaker for the DPA lecure specialized in LAW!

     

    Dental Practice Act & Law and Ethics Review- (4 hours) 2 Classes ONLY $150

    Price: $150.00

    Available Dates:

    • $40- Law and Ethics Review Book and Flash Cards- Not included. Separate fee
    • Course Time: :9:00am - 1:00pm
    • Continental Breakfast Included!!!
    • December 7, 2014 (Sunday)

    Dental Board of California Approved
    MANDATORY UNLICENSED DENTAL ASSISTANTS and for all RDA Applicants in order to receive a license. Dental Practice Act. In addition, we will give you a complete review for the Law and Ethics Examination! 2 classes- for a great price!
    Our students have had great success with this course!
    Continental Breakfast included!

    4 hours of ce credit: DBC Category 1
    Course content: Scope of Practice, Allowable Duties for Auxiliaries, Conditional Duties and Continuing Education. This is a great prep class for your PSI Exam. Practice test given at the end of class. (Not related to actual exam questions)

    The speaker Laurel Loomer, RDHAP also specializes in LAW!
    Summarize the California Dental Practice Act. • List the governing agencies of the dental profession and define their functions. • Describe the legal role and responsibilities of the dentist and dental auxiliaries. • Distinguish between direct and indirect supervision and define which auxiliary responsibilities are in each category. • Describe the various laws regarding licenses in the dental profession.

    What is the difference between law and ethics?

    A law is something you must obey.

    Ethics is how society expects you to behave.



    This course will satisfy the license renewal or RDA application requirement for mandatory courses in Dental Practice Act. In addition, you will review for the Law and Ethic for the preparation for the RDA-Law and Ethics examination. You may purchase a Prep Review Book with flash cards for the RDA Law and Ethics Examination prior to registration. Book fee is $40. Please order Book prior as it will not be available in class.

    NOTE: Became operative on January 1, 2010. According to California Dental Practice Act Business and Professions Code, Article 7, Section 1750 (c), the supervising licensed dentist will be responsible for ensuring that each unlicensed dental assistant, who is in his or her continuous employ for 120 days or more, has successfully completed board approved courses in Dental Practice Act, basic life support and an eight hour course in infection control within one year.

     

    8 hour Infection Control - Mandatory as of 1/1/10

    Price: $350.00

    Available Dates:

    • Lab Course Time: 2:00pm - 6:30pm
    • December 7, 2014 (Sunday)

    Dental Board of California Approved
    MANDATORY- for all RDA Applicants in order to receive a license. If you are an Unlicensed DA hired after 1-1-10, You must complete this training within 12 months of your hire date.

    Tuition for the 8 hour course is $350-- Register now! Space is limited. First come first serve.

    Don't have access to a computer or just not comfortable using one. No worries! Let us know and we will send you home study course materials. Easy as that!

    You will be required to complete the additional 4 hours of on-line training: videos, practical applications and post-tests prior to course meeting in order to participate in the lab session.

    This course is an 8 hour course: 4 hour didactic home study or online & 4 hours clinical lab instruction at our clinic.8 hours of ce credit: DBC Category 1

    The following Business and Professions Code Sections require certain individuals to complete a Board-approved course in infection control (among other requirements):

    1. 1750: The employer of a dental assistant shall be responsible for ensuring that a dental assistant who has been in continuous employment for 120 days or more has already successfully completed, or successfully completes, a board-approved course in infection control within a year of the date of employment.
    2. 1750.2: On and after January 1, 2010, the board may issue an orthodontic assistant permit to a person who provides evidence of successful completion of a board-approved course in infection control.
    3. 1750.4: On and after January 1, 2010, the board may issue a dental sedation assistant permit to a person who provides evidence of successful completion of a board-approved course in infection control.
    4. 1752.1: Individuals applying for registered dental assistant licensure on or after January 1, 2010, shall provide written evidence of successful completion within five years prior to application of a board-approved course in infection control.

     

    Pit and Fissure Sealants- $145 OFF - (Reg. $695)

    Price: $550.00

    Available Dates:

    • Course Time: 8am- 6pm
    • WE PROVIDE ALL COURSE SUPPLIES!
    • $145 Discount
    • November 2, 2014 (Sunday) & December 14, 2014 (Sunday) -Final exam
    • February 8, 2015 (Sunday) & March 22, 2015 (Sunday) -Final exam

    Dental Board of California Approved
    AS OF JANUARY 1, 2010 THIS COURSE IS MANDATORY for all RDA's upon first renewal. 16 hours of ce credit: DBC Category 1

    In office training available for 6 or more depending on location:

    Contact ADAA (312) 541-1550 to purchase liability insurance for this class. $45 ($1 million aggregate) website www.dentalassistant.org, or Bring your payment on the first day of class and we will process your application for you.

    All participants involved in the direct provision of patient care must be certified in basic life support procedures, including cardiopulmonary resuscitation. Re-certification intervals may not exceed two years. Proof of liability insurance is required for this course. We have applications with student rates. Please provide your own safety glasses and curing light.

    Laboratory instruction is conducted on a typodont, a simulated model of occlusal FOSSA and occlusal groove from Shanghai China, as well as extracted teeth.

    Patients will be required after participants have successfully learned the laboratory and clinical experience to achieve minimum competence in the various protocols used in the application of pit and fissure sealants.

    All course supplies are provied by DSI accept curing lights.Bring your own safety glasses and curing light! UltraSeal XT plus sealant material by Ultradent and an instructional CD will be sent to you upon registration.
    Clinical Patients - Four (4) clinical patients are required. Each clinical patient must have a minimum of four (4) virgin, non-restored, natural teeth, sufficiently erupted so that a dry field can be maintained, for application of the etching, or etchant/bond combination, and sealant materials. Such clinical instruction includes teeth in all four quadrants among the four patients.

    Supervised clinical instruction in the application of pit and fissure sealants will assure that students who successfully complete the course can apply pit and fissure sealants with minimum competence.

    Infection Control: This course establishes written clinical and laboratory protocols to ensure adequate asepsis, infection and hazard control, and disposal of hazardous wastes, which shall comply with the board's regulations and other Federal, State, and local requirements. This course will provide such protocols to all participants to assure compliance with such protocols.

    Participants are required to bring (4) extracted teeth (2) bicuspids and (2) molars for laboratory practice. These teeth should be immersed in a small cup of stone or plaster base and aligned as it would be in the dental arch.

    Students are responsible for the recruitment of their own patients. All patients must be pre-screened and teeth to be sealed must be prescribed by their dentist or candidate's employer., DSI staff will not pre-screen any patients! DSI staff-examiners will only verify, evaluate, confirm, approve or disapprove what was originally pre-screened. Any patient with incomplete paperwork will be disqualified.

    Course clinical final exam will be proctored by Licensed Dentists. All Clinical patients will be pre-screened with a signed prescription for sealants by private DDS outside of course staff. Diagnostic bitewing x-rays of area to be sealed are required! Digital x-rays must be of diagnostic quality or patient will be rejected.

    Course dates are subject to change due to class size.

    The following is an excerpt from the Dental Board website:
    1752.6 Required RDA instruction in pit and fissure sealants effective January 1, 2010 A registered dental assistant licensed on and after January 1, 2010, shall provide evidence of successful completion of a board-approved course in the application of pit and fissure sealants prior to the first expiration of his or her license that requires the completion of continuing education as a condition of renewal. The license of a registered dental assistant who does not provide evidence of successful completion of that course shall not be renewed until evidence of course completion is provided.

     

    Coronal Polishing

    Price: $495.00

    Available Dates:

    • WE PROVIDE ALL COURSE SUPPLIES!
    • Course Time: 8am- 6pm
    • January 31, 2015 (Saturday) & February 1, 2015 (Sunday) -Final exam

    Dental Board of California Approved
    MANDATORY for all RDA Applicants in order to receive a license.This course includes both classroom and supervised clinical training. Participant will be required to pass a written and clinical examination. Manikin practice is essential. Each participant must provide two (2) clinical exam patients for the second session. A backup patient would be recommended. All patients must be screened by a dentist or hygienist and deemed free of calculus and heavy stains and no serious health issues.

    This is a procedure limited to the removal of plaque and stains from exposed tooth surfaces, using an appropriate rotary instrument with a rubber cup, brush and a polishing agent under direct supervision. Students are required to provide their own safety glasses; all other course supplies are provided. We even supply the slow speed at no additional cost!

    You do not have to be an RDA to take this course. Although in order to receive an RDA license this is a required course. This duty is for a licensed RDA. You will receive your certificate upon successful completion on the day of the course final. 16 hours of ce credit: DBC Category 1


    On-line video participation during enrollment.

     

    Ultrasonic Scaling- Required for OAP-Course

    Price: $395.00

    Available Dates:

    • Course Time: 9am- 5pm
    • WE PROVIDE ALL COURSE SUPPLIES!
    • February 7, 2015 (Saturday)

    Dental Board of California Approved
    The use of the Ultrasonic Scaler by the RDA to remove excess cement from coronal surfaces of teeth in an Orthodontic setting is offered with complete instruction and requires clinical practice and student participation. Participant will be required to pass a written and clinical examination which will include practice on manikins. There are no clinical patients require for this course. This is a great expanded function for the Orthodontic Assistant and RDA's as well. This course is a prerequisite for the OAP course. Students are required to bring their own safety glasses; all other course supplies are provided.

    In addition, this course will include Infection Control Protocol written exam to reduce your occupations risk of disease transmission. A course final written exam and laboratory examination will be administered at the end of the course. 8 hours of ce credit: DBC Category 1

    Online video participation during enrollment.

     

    Basics for the New Auxiliary

    Price: $295.00

    Available Dates:

    • Course Time: 8am- 5pm
    • January 31, 2015 (Saturday)

    As a member of the dental team, the auxiliary should know "The Basics", such as Basic Oral Anatomy, Infection Control, Universal Precautions, Aids and Hepatitis B Prevention. Knowledge of these basics is essential for taking radiographs, assisting the dentist or hygienist, coronal-polishing teeth, performing lab work and many other tasks.

    This course teaches the basics, so that you will understand more about the teeth and the risks that each auxiliary faces on the job. You should be concerned with reducing risks of spreading infection to yourself and others. Hence, you will be able to communicate with the dentist more easily using technical dental terminology. In addition, an overview of instrument passing and aspiration will be introduced. This course will be a great enhancement to the new auxiliary. A great preliminary course toward the more enhanced courses we offer. 8 hours of ce credit: DBC Category 1

    Students are required to provide their own safety glasses; all other course supplies are provided.


    Online video participation during enrollment.

     

    Xray-California Radiation Health & Safety $100- OFF (Reg. $695)

    Price: $595.00

    Available Dates:

    • Course Time: 8am- 6pm
    • November 15-16, 2014 Part I, November 23, 2014 Part II, December 6, 2014 Final Exam
    • February 21- 22, 2015 Part I, March 8, 2015 Part II, March 21, 2015 Final Exam

    Dental Board of California Approved
    MANDATORY for all RDA Applicants in order to receive a license. This course will provide x-ray certification training covering multiple exposure techniques. The course includes classroom and clinical training of x-ray safety, film exposure, endodontic, bisecting and parallel techniques, processing and critiquing of films.

    Each participant will provide their own x-ray film and four clinical patients. Participants need to bring one box of single x-ray film and one box of double x-ray film, F speed size #2 is required, all other course supplies are provided. Patients will be required after participants have successfully learned the techniques on an x-ray Dexter manikin.

    Patient number one, two and three will be done at your workplace. The fourth patient is needed for the final exam. Two of your four patients may be Digital. The course is structured to meet the criteria set forth by the Dental Board for the operation of dental radiographic equipment in California. You do not have to be an RDA to take this course. Although in order to receive an RDA license this is a required course. As a dental assistant you can take x-rays if you have successfully passed this course. You will receive your certificate upon successful completion on the day of the course final. 32+hours of ce credit: DBC Category 1

    To purchase film: (1 Box FX-58 Vinyl Packet Size #2 Single Film, 1 Box FX-57 Vinyl Packet Size #2 Double Film) Contact

    Margie Tanquary: Email, Call or Fax
    Margie.Tanquary@HenrySchein.com
    408-472-8755 Fax: 408-519-6731

    OR

    Dental Health Products, Inc
    Pat DeGrand
    800-626-2163 ext 1350
    patriciad@dhpi.net

    Description of film to order: F speed, Polysoft, Size #2. You will need one box of single film and for the first day of class. Double film will be required for all your clinical patients.



    Online video participation during enrollment.

     

    X-ray Technique Refresher

    Price: $450.00

    Available Dates:

    • Course Time: 8am- 6pm
    • November 15-16, 2014 Part I, November 23, 2014 Part II
    • February 21- 22, 2015 Part I, March 8, 2015 Part II

    Dental Board of California Approved
    A course for those who already know how to take radiographs but may be having difficulty with elongation, closed contacts, cone-cuts, endodontic exposures, or other problems. Participants should bring one box of single x-ray film and one box of double x-ray film. F speed size #2 film is required. This is not a beginner's course. You may choose to bring a clinical patient for close observation. Clinical patient assignments at your workplace is recomended. Although, this is not a requirement it will certainly improve your x-ray techniqes from what you have learned during laboratory deminstation on Dexter. No written exams. You will not receive an x-ray certificate in this course.

    Students are required to provide their own safety glasses and x-ray film; all other course supplies are provided.

    To purchase film:( (1 Box FX-58 Vinyl Packet Size #2 Single Film, 1 Box FX-57 Vinyl Packet Size #2 Double Film) Contact

    Margie TanquaryEmail, Call or Fax
    Margie.Tanquary@HenrySchein.com
    408-472-8755 Fax: 408-519-6731

    OR

    Dental Health Products, Inc
    Pat DeGrand
    800-626-2163 ext 1350
    patriciad@dhpi.net

    Description of film to order: F speed, Polysoft, Size #2. You will need one box of single film and for the first day of class. Double film will be required for all your clinical patients. 24 hours of ce credit: DBC Category 1

    Online video participation during enrollment.

     

    X-ray Challenge

    Price: $400.00

    Available Dates:

    • November 15-16, 2014 Part I, November 23, 2014 Part II, December 6, 2014 Final Exam
    • February 21- 22, 2015 Part I, March 8, 2015 Part II, March 21, 2015 Final Exam

    Dental Board of California Approved
    (There is $135 exam fee which is separate from the course fee to be paid to examiner)
    This course is for those who have significant experience taking full-mouth dental radiographs, but do not have a California Radiation Safety Certificate. Participants will be required to pass a written examination and take two FMX (full mouth x-ray) series on dexter using single film. Three pre-clinical patients at workplace and One clinical patient survey will be performed at Dental Specialties site for the final clinical exam.

    Participants will be required to use single film for each required manikin survey. Double film is required for each patient survey performed. Any speed film size #2 will do. No instruction will be given during this Radiation Safety Certificate challenge.

    There will be no refund for participants who are unsuccessful in the course challenge. Each participant will provide their own x-ray film and four clinical patients. (Participants are responsible for their own patients & Supplies).

    To order x-ray film contact: Margie Tanquary: Email, Call or Fax Margie.Tanquary@HenrySchein.com 408-472-8755 Fax: 408-519-6731

    Description of film to order: 1 Box FX-58 (single) & 1 Box FX- 57 Double speed, Vinyl, Size #2.

    Online video participation!

     

    Temporary Crown -Advanced Esthetic Provisionals

    Price: $375.00

    Available Dates:

    • Course Time: 9am- 5pm
    • TBD- 2015

    This course is not a beginner's class or meant to prepare for the RDA Practical exam. This is an advanced class for those who are currently working in an office focusing on the fabrication of long span provisionals for cosmetic procedures. Make your own six or single unit provisionals and improve the importance of embrasures and esthetics. This course will focus on anterior provisionals as well as posterior.

    Laboratory experience:
    Laboratory experience: Empress Preparations prepared by Dr. Ken Frangadakis (Cupertino, CA)

    • 6 unit anterior provisional involving #6, #7, #8, #9, #10, #11
    • Veneer #9, 3 unit bridge on #11, #12, #13 and Single unit crown #3
    • Empress preparation - # 3 MODL Onlay
    • HD silicone prepped models
    • Vacuum formed polypropylene copings for the prepped silicone models
    • Rigid urethane with no preps used for preliminary
    $85 value HD silicone prepped model of your choice -Free with enrollment.
    Students are required to provide their own safety glasses and curing light,all other course supplies are provided. 8 hours of ce credit: DBC Category 1

     

    American Red Cross:CPR - Adult, Child & Infant with Defibrillation-Blended

    Price: $112.00

    Available Dates:

    • TBD- 2015

    Designed for individuals with a duty to respond to emergencies, this program combines discussions, video and hands-on training. Real-life rescue scenarios reinforce decision-making skills. Free quarterly refreshers. Course covers how to respond to breathing and cardiac emergencies in adults, children and infants until more advanced medical personnel take over. Topics include:

  • Primary assessment
  • Ventilations (incl. use of CPR breathing barriers and use of BVMs)
  • Choking (incl. conscious and unconscious)
  • CPR (incl. one- and two-rescuer) AED
  • Optional training in use of epinephrine auto-injectors and asthma inhalers available Course length: Approximately 5.5 hours. 2-year certification If you are applying for a Dental Board Exam they only accept American Red Cross or American Heart Association

  •  

    ASHI's (American Health & Safety Institute): CPR - Adult, Child & Infant with Defibrillation-Blended

    Price: $95.00

    Available Dates:

    • TBD- 2015

    NEW! Blended Learning CPR with Defibrillation $27 processing fee for ARC certificate in addition to course fee.

    This course is a Blended Learning course.4 hours of ce credit: DBC Category 1

    The clinical hands on skills evaluation is instructed by Maria Leal, RN, who has been teaching for over 25 yrs as a CPR and Medical Assisting instructor, in addition she works full time in the ER. She has many great true experiences to share.

    Once you have registered, you will be given a link to start the online portion. You will be required to take all online assignments and pass the online exam before you can participate in class with the hands on skills testing. You will not be allowed to attend if incomplete!

    Upon completion of the online assignments and exam, successfully passed the hands on skills in front of an authorized instructor you will receive your certification card.

    CPR/AED for the Professional Rescuer teaches students to respond to breathing and cardiac emergencies in adults, children and infants, use an AED on an adult or child victim of cardiac arrest and use personal protective equipment to stop blood-borne pathogens and other diseases from spreading.

    There will be discussion of Food-triggered, bee stings, life-threatening allergic reactions, and learn how to administer the EpiPen Auto-injector for extreme allergic emergency of anaphylaxis.

    • American Safety & Health Institute - Basic training center, good for 2 years (ASHI's is Not accepted for RDA applicaton)
    • American Heart Association, good for 2 years


    Infant/Child Defibrillation. The FR2+ can treat patients of any age. When equipped with special infant/child defibrillator pads that reduce the energy of the FR2+'s shock, you can safely treat a child or infant in cardiac arrest.

     

    Facebow Tranfser and Bite Registration & Preliminary Impressions

    Price: $150.00

    Available Dates:

    • This is a "New DA Duty"
    • Course Dates:
    • March 1, 2015 (Sunday)

    This course will provide an informative how-to correctly utilize and preform a facebow transfer. In today's ortho and esthetic practices, the use of an articulator and facebow have become a critical part of information used with a laboratory whenfor taking ortho records or restoring anterior teeth. A step by step video will be viewed either online or in class. This class will provide lots of hands on.
    Taking the perfect Preliminary impression.

    This course will also be part of the OAP course.

     

    Online-2 hour mandate Infection Control Renewal

    Price: $0.00

    Available Dates:

    • Coming Soon!

    Infection Control - This course covers the requirements for the Dental Board of California for Infection Control for license renewal every two years. 2 Category 1 continuing education units.

    The Infection Control for License Renewal course is designed to meet requirements of the Dental Board of California by adhering to the California Code of Regulations 1005 - Dental Board of California Infection Control Regulations. This course meets the requirements for license renewal license holders in California. This course does not meet the 8 hour Infection Control requirement for unlicensed dental assistants. Course Subject: •Section 1005 •Disease transmission •Standard precautions •Disinfection & sterilization •Waste management •Compliance issues

     

    California Dental Practice Act Online (2 hrs) Coming Soon!

    Price: $0.00

    Available Dates:

    • Coming Soon!

    License Renewal The California Dental Practice Act - The course meets the Dental Board of California requirement for CEU license renewal every 2 years. There is a review of the requirements for license renewal, anesthesia and sedation, dental materials fact sheets, unprofessional conduct. • List the governing agencies of the dental profession and define their functions. • Describe the legal role and responsibilities of the dentist and dental auxiliaries. • Distinguish between direct and indirect supervision and define which auxiliary responsibilities are in each category. • Describe the various laws regarding licenses in the dental profession. Post Test with Ce Units

     

    Request on-site training : 10 Staff memebers or more

    Available Dates:

    No dates have been scheduled at this time. Please enter your email if you wish to be notified when the program becomes available.

    Email Address:


    Our on-site training features curriculum designed to build core competencies, develop essential skill sets, promote best practices and get measurable, sustainable results and receive a certificate upon successful completions of course requirements. For your convenience, with 6 or more participants we deliver your staff training whenever and wherever you need it.
    (This offer may not apply to all locations due to distance) Contact us for more information.